Monday, August 25, 2014

Lucky Rosenbloom: Why the Founder of Planned Parenthood Was a Rock Star at KKK Rallies

From over at the Margaret Sanger blog:

Now, however, a highly respected journalist, Lucky Rosenbloom, thinks he knows exactly what made Margaret Sanger a superstar "must have" speaker on the Ku Klux Klan rally circuit:

 

 “What do you suppose Margaret Sanger was talking about that made her so appealing to the KKK? I believe she was talking about killing 14 million Black babies. I suppose she was telling them of a way to kill four thousand “Ns” in four weeks using eugenics and abortions outdoing the number of “Ns” they lynched in 86 years…Planned KillerHood was targeted by Civil Rights Movement activists in the 1960s and ‘70s for its involvement in a ”Black genocide.” Since 1973, legalized abortion has been specifically aimed at the African American population and has killed more Black people than cancer, diabetes, heart disease and gang violence combined…This is a sad day for Black America. We are killing ourselves using the most racist, legalized tools today: abortions.” ~ Black Journalist Lucky Rosenbloom


Read the rest at:

African American Journalist Knows What Margaret Sanger Said at Ku Klux Klan Rally




Friday, August 22, 2014

Planned Parenthood Founder Invited to 13 Ku Klux Klan Rallies

From the Margaret Sanger blog a great reminder of the connections between Planned Parenthood and the Ku Klux Klan:

Most of us, myself included, will live our entire lives and never be invited to speak at a single Ku Klux Klan Rally.  And yet, Margaret Sanger, the foundress of Planned Parenthood, received at least 13 such invitations.  Would someone from Planned Parenthood please tell us why Margaret Sanger was so in demand on the KKK speaking circuit?



Six Quotes Hint Why Margaret Sanger Received “a dozen invitations” to speak at Ku Klux Klan Rallies 

Margaret Sanger wrote about her Ku Klux Klan speech in her autobiography, “I accepted an invitation to talk to the women’s branch of the Ku Klux Klan…I saw through the door dim figures parading with banners and illuminated crosses…I was escorted to the platform, was introduced, and began to speak…In the end, through simple illustrations I believed I had accomplished my purpose. A dozen invitations to speak to similar groups were proffered.” (Margaret Sanger: An Autobiography, P.366)

See Rest here:
  

Six Quotes Hint Why Margaret Sanger Received “a dozen invitations” to speak at Ku Klux Klan Rallies

Saturday, August 16, 2014

Rightly Wired an Inspired New Site

We stumbled across a terrific new site today, Rightly Wired, and spent over an hour clicking some of the clever and inspired commentary at this site. Rightly Wired bills itself as Conservative Commentary for the Millennial Generation.  The writing is bright, incisive and importantly humorous when it needs to be.

For instance, we really enjoyed Katie Coyne and her 5 Reasons We're Still Not Buying ObamaCare

According to President Obama, it’s unfair to charge people different prices. If you go to a doctor once a year for a checkup because you eat healthy, exercise and make responsible choices, you should be charged the same (or more) than a 60 year-old who chose to smoke her entire life, eat McDonald’s every day and has cancer and diabetes.The Affordable Care Act fell incredibly short of its stated goals of affordability and fairness. Listed below are the top 5 reasons millennials aren’t buying healthcare, according to anyone with common sense.

1. We can do math...

Be sure to check out the rest of her piece at 5 Reasons We're Still Not Buying ObamaCare .
    
Coyne is just one example of what seems to be a bevy of intelligent and spirited conservative voices at Rightly Wired.  On the whole, Right Wired appears to be liberty loving and culturally conservative but not ready to dance with the GOP's war machine.  We will definitely be keeping an eye on this thoughtful and emerging voice for life and liberty.

Also, worth reading:

The Modern English Department and its Discontents   

3 Biggest Lies the Abortion Industry Feeds Women




Thursday, April 10, 2014

Time for Pro-lifer Donald Trump to Walk the Walk – Step Up and Back the Gosnell Movie!

      Donald Trump is a great businessman, a media genius and a fearless political tactician.  He is the rare voice that won’t back down and bow to the media elite.  So when Trump announced in 2011 that after some serious reflection he had reconsidered his position on abortion and was now prolife, it was great news for those fighting to protect the sanctity of the unborn.

    Trump explained his conversion to CBN News’ David Brody as follows:    

One thing about me, I’m a very honorable guy. I’m pro-life, but I changed my view a number of years ago.  One of the reasons I changed — one of the primary reasons — a friend of mine’s wife was pregnant, in this case married. She was pregnant and he didn’t really want the baby. And he was telling me the story. He was crying as he was telling me the story. He ends up having the baby and the baby is the apple of his eye. It’s the greatest thing that’s ever happened to him. And you know here’s a baby that wasn’t going to be let into life. And I heard this, and some other stories, and I am pro-life.

     It is now three years after Trump announced his conversion and the question needs to be asked:  Where has the Donald been as we wage this battle to protect unborn human life.  After all, Trump has tremendous resources at his fingertips.  He is an almost constant guest on talk shows, he has over two and a half million twitter followers and his opinions on almost anything frequently make front page news.  As someone who believes in the sanctity of human life, why has Trump not used his powerful public platform to help win hearts and minds to the prolife cause? He could an have an immediate and powerful impact.

     Well, now may be Trump's pro-life moment.  There is a perfect opportunity for Trump become involved in a very big way in defending human life.  Last week, filmmakers Phelim McAleer and Ann McElhinney announced  the biggest ever crowd funding campaign to make a TV movie about the serial killer, abortionist Dr. Kermit Gosnell.  After being rejected by the bigots at Kickstarter, the filmmakers took their effort to raise $2.1 million to Indiegogo .  As of yesterday, nearly 7,500 contributors who have pledged over $545,000 to make a TV movie about abortionist Kermit Gosnell - America's biggest serial killer  Imagine the boost this project would get if fellow pro-lifer Donald Trump jumped in with 25,000 other pro-lifers in support of Gosnell the Movie.

      The media does not want to tell the truth about the horrors of abortion.  But with Trump’s help, the censorship of the Gosnell story ends now.  

Thursday, April 3, 2014

Important Gosnell Movie Update - Support this Effort

Ann and Phelim Media posted an announcement 8 hours ago

Dear Supporter
This morning we broke $300,000 and the contributions keep coming!
We wouldn't have reached that without you. We are most grateful for your early support, you inspired others to join and help to make this movie happen.
Please keep coming back to this page to see how we are doing. You already made a huge difference, but here are more things you can do to make this campaign a success:
1) If you can, contribute again
2) Share the link to this page with friends and relatives: www.gosnellmovie.com
3) Tell your friends on Facebook and Twitter about the project
4) Contribute every week if possible, even a small amount will keep the momentum going
As you know, if we don't reach our budget of $2.1 in the next 40 days, all the money will be returned and America will never learn about horrific crimes of Dr. Kermit Gosnell.
Every day people come out in support of our project. Here is just a taste of the great things that have happened most recently:
  • Hugh Hewitt tweeted about us and called us in the morning and asked us to be on his show, we were on for 4 hours last night!
  • Kevin Sorbo, the star of the box office hit God's Not Dead tweeted this:
Kevin Sorbo @ksorbs  Pro-Life or Pro-Choice….doesn't matter with what this guy did. If you physically saw what he did to babies at... http://fb.me/14Tc8L1t4
Again, thank you so much for everything you've done so far.
With your help we can make it.
Please, if you can, donate every week, or as often as you can and please get others to help too. We can't do this without you. You can make a statement and tell Hollywood and the mainstream media if they won't report the news and make films about America's biggest killer, we can do it ourselves. We are doing it!
Thank you
Ann
Phelim
Magdalena

Friday, March 28, 2014

Who Will Lead the Fight to Catholicize the Summer Reading Lists at Catholic High Schools?

Last summer, Carl E. Olson at Catholic World Report, exposed the horrendous state of Catholic high school summer reading lists by highlighting one particularly smutty and ludicrously vulgar novel assigned to incoming freshmen at St. Ignatius High School in Cleveland.  And St. Ignatius wasn't alone - a quick google search revealed that dozens of other Catholic schools had assigned the same poorly written piece of garbage. 

We really don't want to revisit here all the gratuitously lewd, crude and lascivious passages in this very unfortunates selection for teen reading. But for purposes of background and so that others can grasp the gravity of the problem at hand, we encourage readers to review Carl Olsen's important article in Catholic World Report, Why do some Catholic schools require students to read lousy, vulgar books?, the Cardinal Newman Society Report on the situation,   "Jesus Burpeth" is Catholic School Required Reading?, and the College Fix article, Catholic Schools Assign Vulgar Books As Required Reading.    There is also an interesting insider's account at Est Quod Est, Eternal Vigilance.

It is simply a fact that most Catholic high school summer reading lists contain drivel and frequently anti-Catholic drivel.  So what do we do?  Olson's article last year created a minor stir in Catholic blogoshere last year (here, here, and here), but it is doubtful that many Catholic parents are aware of the problem and it is likely that Catholic students will once again be assigned to read garbage this summer. 

It is time to fight back.

Can one obscure Catholic blog like ours make a difference?  We don't really care.  We are simply fighting back because it is the right things to do.  If you would like to help as well, because it is the right thing to do, we have a couple of ideas.

One of the saddest and most mystifying aspects of this whole thing is that Catholic students are being assigned to read drivel when there is such a rich treasure trove of Catholic literature out there.  As Olson noted last summer:


If I was a parent whose child was required to read that book, I would have some questions for the English teacher, beginning with this one: "Have you never heard of Ignatius Press?" And, as a follow-up: "Or of the Ignatius Critical Editions?
Why would a Catholic school not assign a summer reading list chock full of inspirational books about the lives of Catholic saints and heroes?  In twenty lifetimes, one couldn't read all the great Catholic books out there.  Do Catholic schools really prefer books about cynical perverted punks over The Ear of the Heart: An Actess' Journey from Hollywood to Holy Vows or Father Damien and the Bells?

If you have a child or grandchild at a Catholic high school, don't wait any longer.  Most high schools have their reading lists on their website.  Review the list for questionable material.  Contact their high school today with some suggestions.  Ask why more Catholic books are not included.  And it bears repeating, provide them directly with a list of wonderfully positive and inspirational books about Catholic saints and heroes. 


And how about adding a prolife book or two to Catholic school summer reading lists?  The Hand of God: A Journey from Death to Life by the Abortion doctor who changed his mind, Dr. Bernard Nathanson, is a gripping page turner that should be a must read for every high school student.

We at The Culture of Life Review would love to see  Priests for Life, Human Life International, American Life League, National Right to Life, Life Dynamics, or even Lila Rose and her great organization Live Action help promote this cause.  And how about the fast growing and tremendously energetic organization Students for Life ? What a great cause for them to pursue. We urge these outstanding prolife organizations to publish their own summer reading lists for students and to get these lists into the hands of decision makers at Catholic high schools.  A truly low cost way to win hearts and minds.

This battle will not be won over night.  Please pray that all Catholic schools will realize the importance of their mission and begin to pass on the Faith to our children.





 

Wednesday, March 26, 2014

A Fulton Sheen Miracle Confirmed; Sainthood May be Near; Patron Saint of the Media?

We stumbled across some great news at the Dominus mihi adjutor Blog.

The Crux of the Matter: the Essence of the Mass

http://hughosb.wordpress.com/2014/03/26/the-crux-of-the-matter-the-essence-of-the-mass/

The recent news that the Vatican’s medical commission has confirmed a miracle to the intercession of the Venerable Fulton Sheen is something to should give us great joy, and more, great hope. His beatification could be very near indeed. If ever there was a natural patron saint for the new media, it would be him. The first televangelist, he taught millions across the world the truths of the faith and of Christian living in a style that was accessible and engaging. He used the new media of television and (earlier) radio to reach an audience far greater than any Catholic preacher or teacher had reached before in such a relatively immediate way. He also raised millions of dollars for the missions.