Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Timely Reminder: CCHD Collection is Coming Up: BOYCOTT!

A timely reminder from LES FEMMES - The Truth:

And pass the word on. Don't let your friends be the chumps in the pews fleeced to pour money into leftwing causes that undermine Church teaching! It's a sad truth but you just can't trust the bishops not to support moral evils with your money! They've been doing it for years through CCHD and nothing ever changes despite promise after promise to reform. Remember the old adage, "Fool me once, shame on you; fool me twice, shame on me! 

Catholic Vote has more:  UPDATE: MORE PROOF WE NEED TO DE-FUND THE CCHD

It really is is one of the worst ideas ever!  Make sure to pass this info on.

Saturday, November 15, 2014

NCR Reviews Miles Christi: Soldiers of Christ in America

Dan Burke has a great review in the National Catholic Register on EWTN's upcoming documentary, Miles Christi: Soldiers of Christ in America.  Set you VCR (or whatever you set these days) and don't miss it!


Miles Christi: Men on a Mission

This Sunday, EWTN is airing “Miles Christi: Soldiers of Christ in America,” which has been four years in the making by StoryTel Foundation. It’s a one-hour documentary covering the Miles Christi order of priests and brothers. The film includes interviews with Cardinal Burke about Fr. John Hardon’s involvement and in-depth coverage of the formation these priests receive.


This is a rare inside look at an order many of us might not have heard of. They’re not a large order, and they’re relatively new, founded in 1994.
Miles Christi priests and brothers came to the United States with a couple of priests and $4000 and are now traveling all over the country, leading retreats and trying to revive the “desert” that they see here in the spirituality of Americans.


"More than ever we need soldiers, spiritually speaking, who will fight the good fight of faith," explains Father Patrick Wainwright, Miles Christi priest, on the documentary.

Read the rest here:

Miles Christi: Men on a Mission


Friday, November 14, 2014

Bishop Lennon to Confirm 26 using the Traditional Latin Rite Sunday, November 16

From the Cleveland Traditional Latin Mass Blog:

On Sunday, November 16, 2014, the Sacrament of Confirmation in the traditional form will be celebrated at Immaculate Conception's 12 noon High Mass by The Most Reverend Richard G. Lennon, Bishop of Cleveland. Please consider attending this very special occasion.

**********

The thriving Traditional Latin Mass community in Cleveland is a sign of great hope.  May these twenty-six confirmandi be just the beginning of a great restoration of the Catholic faith in Cleveland.  Please pray for all involved this Sunday and if you are in the area, it would be a great sign of support for the Latin Mass if Bishop Lennon were to see the beautiful historic Immaculate Conception Church simply jam packed with faithful Catholics.  

Six local parishes now regularly celebrate the Traditional Mass including the wonderful St. Rocco parish on Fulton Road.

From the Cleveland Traditional Latin Mass Blog:

TLM IN THE DIOCESE OF CLEVELAND

St. Stephen - Cleveland
1930 West 54th Street
Cleveland, OH
(216) 631-5633
http://www.ststephencleveland.org/
Sunday 9:30am High Mass
Tue 7:00am Low Mass
Wed & Thurs 6:30pm Low Mass
1st Fri 6:30pm Low Mass
1st Sat 9:30am Low Mass

Immaculate Conception - Cleveland
4109 Superior Ave
Cleveland, OH
(216) 431-5900
Sunday 8am Low Mass, 12pm High Mass
Wed 7am Low Mass
1st Fri 6pm Low Mass
1st Sat 8am Low Mass
Holy Days 6:30pm High Mass

Immaculate Conception - Madison
2846 Hubbard Road
Madison, OH
(440) 428-5164
1st Sunday 12noon
Sacred Heart of Jesus - South Euclid
1545 South Green Road
South Euclid, OH
(216) 382-7601
1st Sat 8am Low Mass

St. Sebastian - Akron
476 Mull Avenue
Akron, OH
(330) 836-2233
Sunday 1pm High Mass -Confessions Heard at 12:30pm

St. Rocco - Cleveland
3205 Fulton Road
Cleveland, OH
(216) 961-8331
http://stroccocleveland.org/
Sunday 6pm Low Mass

Sunday, November 2, 2014

Remembering Joe - A Great Reflection on the Greatest Pro-Life Writer

Joe Sobran was the best.  100 years from now when scholars look back trying to figure out what went wrong in America and how so many stood by quietly and allowed the slaughter of millions of innocent unborn children, they will read the works of Joseph Sobran and wonder why more didn't listen to his clear, precise, and unequivocal calls for mercy for our unborn brothers and sisters.  And his writings will be read and re-read and placed right up there with the works of the greats whom Joe loved, Belloc and Chesterton.

The Late, Great Joe Sobran

So we were delighted to read this great tribute to Joe the other day at Chronicles  - Remembering Joe - by Scott P. Richert

For many Catholics of a certain age, Joseph Sobran will forever be remembered as one of the greatest literary defenders of the Catholic Church's teaching on life over the past 40 years. From contraception to abortion, from euthanasia to just-war doctrine, Joe was an eloquent voice in the popular press for the teachings of the Catholic Church, and, in fighting for the truth, he wore himself out a few decades too early, dying at 3 P.M. on Thursday, September 30, 2010, at the age of 64.

 Read the rest here:

Remembering Joe

Saturday, November 1, 2014

We Always Enjoy the Pro-Life Wannababies Cartoons

One of the things we really encourage here at the Culture of Life Review is creativity.  We all need to use whatever skills and talents we have to get the pro-life message out there.  Art, song, debate, cartoons, whatever talents you have, use them to help protect innocent life.

That is why ministries like Wannababies are so important.   Visit this terrific webpage and support this important ministry however you can:   Wannababies

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Great New Book: Persuasive Pro Life: How to Talk about Our Culture’s Toughest Issue

We keep hearing great things about the new book:  Persuasive Pro Life: How to Talk about Our Culture’s Toughest Issue by Trent Horn.  

Now this from from the Curt Jester, Jeff Miller, one of our favorite bloggers:

Now having read Persuasive Pro Life: How to Talk about Our Culture’s Toughest Issue which was recently released I can say this book is another winner.... This book is just a treasure-trove in regards to both information and advice. Really this is the best presentation on this topic I have ever seen. I would say it would be highly useful to anybody from someone who might have casual arguments on this topic with co-workers and friends to those on the front lines of defending life.  

*************


Read the rest of miller's review here:  Review: Persuasive Pro-Life

Miller is right on target about this book.  And when works like this come along, it is incumbent that we all support these efforts, buy the book, and if we can afford to buy multiple hands and get them into the right hands.  Trent Horn did the tough work putting together this pro-life masterpiece, let's do our part now and get it into as many hands as possible.  Buy copies for your kids school, leave some in the back of church, give them out as Christmas  gifts.   

Saturday, October 25, 2014

Washington Times: Margaret Sanger, racist eugenicist extraordinaire by Arina Grossu

Great post over at Margaret Sanger Blog linking to powerful Arina Grossu story on Margaret Sanger.  If you have a blog or site, consider linking to this Washington Times story:


Arina Grossu, the director for the Center for Human Dignity at the Family Research Council, 
set the record straight on leftist hero Margaret Sanger with a great article back in May in the Washington  Times. Read this and you gotta think, "Isn't it time for someone to make the movie, Margaret Sanger and the KKK?"  It would be a blockbuster and devestate the Planned Parenthood PR folks.


GROSSU: Margaret Sanger, racist eugenicist extraordinaire


The founder of Planned Parenthood would have considered many Americans unworthy of life


Recent articles have reported on an unearthed video from 1947 of Margaret Sanger demanding “no more babies” for 10 years in developing countries. A couple of years ago, Margaret Sanger was named one of Time magazine’s “20 Most Influential Americans of All Time.” Given her enduring influence, it’s worth considering what the woman who founded Planned Parenthood contributed to the eugenics movement.
Sanger shaped the eugenics movement in America and beyond in the 1930s and 1940s. Her views and those of her peers in the movement contributed to compulsory sterilization laws in 30 U.S. states that resulted in more than 60,000 sterilizations of vulnerable people, including people she considered “feeble-minded,” “idiots” and “morons.”
She even presented at a Ku Klux Klan rally in 1926 in Silver Lake, N.J. She recounted this event in her autobiography: “I accepted an invitation to talk to the women’s branch of the Ku Klux Klan … I saw through the door dim figures parading with banners and illuminated crosses … I was escorted to the platform, was introduced, and began to speak … In the end, through simple illustrations I believed I had accomplished my purpose. A dozen invitations to speak to similar groups were proffered” (Margaret Sanger, “An Autobiography,” Page 366). That she generated enthusiasm among some of America’s leading racists says something about the content and tone of her remarks.
In a letter to Clarence Gable in 1939, Sanger wrote: “We do not want word to go out that we want to exterminate the Negro population, and the minister is the man who can straighten out that idea if it ever occurs to any of their more rebellious members” (Margaret Sanger commenting on the ‘Negro Project’ in a letter to Gamble, Dec. 10, 1939).
Her own words and television appearances leave no room for parsing. For example, she wrote many articles about eugenics in the journal she founded in 1917, the Birth Control Review. Her articles included “Some Moral Aspects of Eugenics” (June 1920), “The Eugenic Conscience” (February 1921), “The Purpose of Eugenics” (December 1924), “Birth Control and Positive Eugenics” (July 1925) and “Birth Control: The True Eugenics” (August 1928), to name a few.
The following are some of her more telling quotes:
“While I personally believe in the sterilization of the feeble-minded, the insane and syphilitic, I have not been able to discover that these measures are more than superficial deterrents when applied to the constantly growing stream of the unfit. They are excellent means of meeting a certain phase of the situation, but I believe in regard to these, as in regard to other eugenic means, that they do not go to the bottom of the matter.” (“Birth Control and Racial Betterment,” Feb. 1919, The Birth Control Review).
“Eugenics without birth control seems to us a house builded upon the sands. It is at the mercy of the rising stream of the unfit” (“Birth Control and Racial Betterment,” Feb. 1919, The Birth Control Review).
“Stop our national habit of human waste.” (“Woman and the New Race,” 1920, Chapter 6).
“By all means, there should be no children when either mother or father suffers from such diseases as tuberculosis, gonorrhea, syphilis, cancer, epilepsy, insanity, drunkenness and mental disorders. In the case of the mother, heart disease, kidney trouble and pelvic deformities are also a serious bar to childbearing No more children should be born when the parents, though healthy themselves, find that their children are physically or mentally defective.” (“Woman and the New Race,” 1920, Chapter 7).
“The main objects of the Population Congress would be to apply a stern and rigid policy of sterilization and segregation to that grade of population whose progeny is tainted, or whose inheritance is such that objectionable traits may be transmitted to offspring[;] to give certain dysgenic groups in our population their choice of segregation or sterilization.” (“A Plan for Peace,” 1932).
Read the Rest Here:   

GROSSU: Margaret Sanger, racist eugenicist extraordinaire